The Porous Web


I often see clients who ask me to assist them in developing a web site, potentially in SharePoint 2010 or using some other open source technology. While it is important to have some kind of digital real estate, it is more important to look at how people use the web these days.

From our audience point of view the Internet is one great big environment from which they can consume information, engage with each other and entertain themselves.

Our domain is only one place they can go to to do this, but there are multiple other places. We need to consider the entire environment. The website is only one element of our conversation on line. These days our audiences practise osmosis as they flow from places of low value to high value.

High value is a product of information and context. Information is available everywhere, but if it can’t be found or it does not come from a trustworthy source its value is compromised. So how do we make sure that we deliver high value in this porous environment? We do this by designing our projects around audiences through content architectures, digital geographies, SEO and curatorship.

Content Architectures

Content architectures are thought constructs which examine how we wish to position ourselves in our audience minds, and what we need to say or do in order to achieve this. They require a thorough investigation into our audience’s motivations, worlds-views and environments.

Digital Geography

Digital geography is concerned with where our audiences are, are they on social media sites, looking through lists, browsing or on special interest sites. Do we need to make sure that we have a presence on Facebook, Twitter or that on-line newspaper? What industry forums are they consulting, who are the thought leaders?

SEO

These days, very few people type in the name of our domain to find us, they are far more likely to go to their preferred search engine, whether it be Yahoo, Bing or the ubiquitous Google and type in a search term. If we can’t be found easily, we have wasted our efforts. We need to make sure that whatever we put out there can is as search engine friendly as possible.

Curatorship

Curatorship is the human intervention which adds value. These are trusted sources of information who assemble information and contextualise it. They may be thought leaders, bloggers, on line journalists or even someone inside our own company who engages with our audience or who they follow or engage with to filter the masses of information out there and make it easy to consume.

Far too many companies develop website strategies, but to create competitive advantage in the digital world, we should rather create digital strategies which encompass the entire digital milieu.

About Digital Bridges

Digital Bridges creates high performance organisations by unlocking the business value of the web. We create digital strategies, user requirement and functional specifications for Intranets, websites and web applications. We also develop and implement social media strategies and create powerful digital brands using eMarketing and Communication and manage brand conversations with consumers.

Digital Bridges approaches the web from a management consulting position and relies heavily on rigorous academic thinking as well as business experience. It is headed up by Kate Elphick who has a Law degree and an MBA from GIBS. Kate has spent the last fifteen years of her career on the business side of the IT industry with companies such as Datatec, Didata, Business ConneXion and Primedia.

Digital Bridges has a broad range of experience working with significant, successful clients in the Financial, Gaming, Tourism, Pharmaceutical, ICT, Legal, Airline, Professional Services, Media and Public Sectors.

To find out more about Digital Bridges, please visit www.digitalbridges.co.za or contact Kate Elphick on katee@digitalbridges.co.za

74 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Business, Digital Communities, eMarketing, Enterprise 2.0, Facebook, Google, Web 2.0, Web Marketing

74 responses to “The Porous Web

  1. Pingback: Frank MacDonald » The Porous Web Digitalbridgess Blog

  2. I am really grateful to have the information from this blog.I liked the blog as it has been written,the information i got from here.
    This is a good information i got from here.I really liked it and this information is worth remembering.

  3. I love the efforts you have put in this, regards for all the great content .

  4. Can you tell me how I can add your site in my news reader. your help would be helpful I really want to access your articles.

  5. While this subject can be very touchy for most people, my opinion is that there has to be a middle or common ground that we all can find.

  6. Thanks for creating this. I really feel as though I know so much more about the topic than I did before. You should continue this, Im sure most people would agree youve got a gift.

  7. Intriguing read. There is currently quite lots of info all around this subject close to and about about the net and some are most defintely better than others. You could have caught the detail here just correct which makes for a refreshing change – thanks.

  8. Hey thanks for the reading.

  9. Great things as usual…Now you look upon my blog .

  10. On That Point there r certainly a stack of details identical to that to take into consideration

  11. Resources just like the 1 you mentioned here are going to be really helpful to me personally

  12. Interesting… I’m going to blog about that too…

  13. Wow, this is very fun to read. Have you ever considered submitting articles to magazines?

  14. I like when you talk about this type of stuff in your posts. Perhaps could you continue to do this?

  15. Hey, i’ve been reading this site for a while and have a question, maybe you can help… it’s how do i add your feed to my rss reader as i want to follow you. Thanks. Best wishes, Vada.

  16. Great site here, such a wealth of knowledge.

  17. A great important post which does make you consider about the bigger picture here. I concur with the preceeding opinion and despite the fact that I would probably consider myself to some degree less advanced in terms of understanding on the issue he obviously appreciates exactly what he is talking about as do you.

  18. Nice site. I love the effort you put into your work.

  19. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post. Also, I’ve shared your web site in my social networks!

  20. When I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service? Thanks!

  21. A great post with lots of food for thought.

  22. It’s in point of fact a nice and helpful piece of information. I am satisfied that you just shared this helpful information with us. Please stay us up to date like this Thank you for sharing.

  23. Pingback: Social Media Optimisation | Digitalbridges’s Blog

  24. I think other site proprietors should take this website as an model, very clean and wonderful user friendly style and design, let alone the content. You’re an expert in this topic!

  25. Thank you, I have recently been searching for info about this subject for a while and yours is the best I’ve found out till now. However, what concerning the bottom line? Are you sure about the supply?

  26. Sometimes I just feel that individuals write and don’t really have much to say. Not here. You absolutely have something to say and you say it with style! You certainly do have an interesting way of drawing people in.

  27. I think other site proprietors should take this web site as an model, very clean and excellent user friendly style and design, let alone the content. You’re an expert in this topic!

  28. Magnificent beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your website, how could i subscribe for a blog web site? The account helped me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear concept

  29. I would like to use this theme on my site, what is it?

  30. You made some fine points there. I did a search on the subject and found mainly persons will go along with with your blog.

  31. This really is certainly a subject thats close to me so Im happy that you simply wrote about this. Im also happy that you did the subject some justice. Not only are you aware a good deal about it, you know how to present in a manner that individuals will want to read much more. Im so pleased to know someone as if you exists on the web.

  32. Loving the information on this site, you have done outstanding job on the content .

  33. I found your blog web site on google and examine a few of your early posts. Continue to maintain up the very good operate. I simply additional up your RSS feed to my MSN Information Reader. In search of forward to studying more from you later on!…

  34. Can I just say what a relief to find somebody who actually knows what theyre speaking about on the internet. You positively know methods to deliver a problem to gentle and make it important. More people need to learn this and understand this facet of the story. I cant imagine youre not more common since you undoubtedly have the gift.

  35. I would like to point out my admiration for your kind-heartedness in support of those who require guidance on this one topic. Your real commitment to passing the solution all over became particularly practical and have truly encouraged guys just like me to realize their pursuits. Your new helpful guide can mean this much a person like me and even further to my fellow workers. Thanks a lot; from all of us.

  36. This really answered my problem, thank you!

  37. I would like to get across my affection for your kind-heartedness in support of persons who really want help with this niche. Your personal dedication to getting the solution up and down was surprisingly interesting and have always allowed professionals just like me to realize their pursuits. Your amazing warm and friendly hints and tips signifies so much to me and especially to my office workers. Many thanks; from all of us.

  38. I want to express some thanks to you just for bailing me out of this type of trouble. After scouting throughout the internet and meeting recommendations that were not powerful, I assumed my entire life was over. Existing without the presence of answers to the difficulties you’ve solved by means of your entire short article is a critical case, and ones that might have negatively damaged my career if I hadn’t come across your blog. That expertise and kindness in playing with all things was excellent. I’m not sure what I would have done if I hadn’t come upon such a stuff like this. I am able to now look ahead to my future. Thank you very much for this impressive and sensible guide. I will not be reluctant to refer your site to any individual who wants and needs recommendations about this area.

  39. cool web site yo have ghere btw

  40. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my web site thus i came to “return the favor”.I am attempting to find things to enhance my web site!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

  41. Regards for sharing the information with us.

  42. thanks to the author for taking his time on this one.

  43. Can I simply say what a aid to find somebody who actually knows what theyre speaking about on the internet. You definitely know tips on how to carry a difficulty to mild and make it important. More folks have to learn this and understand this aspect of the story. I cant consider youre no more common because you undoubtedly have the gift.

  44. thought provoking comments here

  45. This really is a marvelous website. I’ve been back greater than once during the last week and want to sign up to your rss feed creating use of Google but cannot deliver the results out the right way to do it highly very well. Do you realize of any kind of guides?

  46. I am trying to figure out how to get the RSS feeds to work, but cannot figure it out. Some help would be awesome Thank you

  47. A lot of these comments dont make sense? Provide the guy a rest and stop posting crap! Continue this great work. Excellent post!

  48. I have been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be a lot more useful than ever before

  49. Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and aid others like you helped me.

  50. Give a person a fish and you feed them for a day; train that person to use the Internet they usually will not bother you for weeks. ~Writer Unknown

  51. You completed various fine points there. I did a search on the subject matter and found a good number of persons will agree with your blog.

  52. The tips you contributed here are really useful. Rrt had been such an enjoyable surprise to get that waiting for me once i woke up this very day. They are continually to the point as well as simple to learn. Thanks a ton for the clever ideas you have shared in this article.

  53. Im not certain I totally concur with you about this post. On the other hand I am always amenable to fresh concepts. Might have to think about it. Useful site anyway. I am speechless. This can be a very good weblog and really enticing too. Great work! That’s now not actually much originating from an amateur publisher much like me, nevertheless it’s all I might just say after diving into your posts. Nice grammar and vocabulary. Now not like other blogs. You truly know very well what you?re referring to too. Such a lot that you simply helped me want to explore more. Your weblog has grow to be a stepping-stone for me, my pal.

  54. I was just having a conversation over this I am glad I came across this it cleared some of the questions I had.

  55. I’ve been checking your blog for a while now, seems like everyday I learn something new 🙂 Thanks

  56. Of course, what a great site and informative posts, I will add backlink – bookmark this site? Regards, Reader

  57. This post makes a lot of sense !

  58. I’ve just started off a blog, the knowledge you give on this site has aided me extremely. Thank you for all your time & work.

  59. This is amazing! There are several factors that make art good and you just went the extra mile and made it great! Again — this is so detailed and great!

  60. Would you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your webpage? One of my websites is in the exact same niche as yours and my users would genuinely benefit from a lot of the information you present here. Please let me know if this okay with you.Great site, regardless. Thanks a lot!

  61. Good day! I just wish to give a huge thumbs up for the nice information you’ve got here on this post. I will likely be coming again to your blog for extra soon.

  62. Excellent post here! This has a lot of information! You can definitely tell you spent a lot of time on your blog! If you have any tips can you help me out with mine?

  63. Excellent blog! I genuinely love how it’s easy on my eyes as well as the information are well written. I am wondering how I might be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which need to do the trick! Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

